Two Years in the Forbidden City

by the Princess Der Ling,
First Lady in Waiting to the Empress Dowager


1 Introductory
2 At the Palace
3 A Play at the Court
4 A Luncheon with the Empress
5 An Audience with the Empress
6 In Attendance on Her Majesty
7 Some Incidents of the Court
8 The Court Ladies
9 The Emperor Kwang Hsu
10 The Young Empress
11 Our Costumes
12 The Empress and Mrs. Conger
13 The Empress's Portrait
14 The Emperor's Birthday
15 The Mid-Autumn Festival
16 The Summer Palace
17 The Audience Hall
18 The New Year Festivals
19 The Sea Palace
20 Conclusion

back to the list of books